Kiss Farewell

I have a poem to share.

I used to write poems when I was younger because I felt that I could express my philosophical self best when I’m poetic. Turns out, it didn’t help much just expressing my philosophy when I didn’t have hope in my life. They were like an empty wish, or simply, just empty.

When I got to know God and began to read the Bible, boy, was I judgmental!  I’d read the Exodus and the wandering with despise: why are you people so stiff-necked?!   And I’d fall asleep by the time I’m on Numbers.  Then God broke my stiff neck, and I realized: the condition of the people was a reflection of my schizophrenic nature with my walk with God.

What a patient, compassionate, merciful God we have.  And He has been saying this to me all along: kiss farewell, for you are a new creation.

 

Kiss Farewell

Kiss farewell to the city that we used to know

Walking through the valleys of nothing

the journey high and low

 

Looking for a sign, and it’s right before our eyes

but fail to comprehend, my heart of stone is dissatisfied

Looking for a home to rest our heads

but home won’t come without the heart first find rest

 

Desperate to lean on something but found the wrong places

Dance in the light of day but crumble in dark cages

Our hearts are numb, though we cry and mourn

and it hurts like fire and poison, and my flesh is torn

 

But in the desert you took the face

of my transgressions and it was raised

You say, Look upon the way it was made

We lift our gaze and our lives remained

 

So you say, Kiss farewell to the way that you used to know

Turn your heart from the valleys of nothing

the journey long ago

3 thoughts on “Kiss Farewell

  1. “Turns out, it didn’t help much just expressing my philosophy when I didn’t have hope in my life. They were like an empty wish, or simply, just empty.”

    Everything Is Meaningless
    1 The words of the Teacher, a son of David, king in Jerusalem:
    2 “Meaningless! Meaningless!”
    says the Teacher.
    “Utterly meaningless!
    Everything is meaningless.”
    Ecclesiastes 1:1-2

    Reminds me of Solomon…. a man who: “… spoke 3,000 proverbs & 1005 songs” (1 Kings 4:32) many of which did not make it into the bible. He realized without God everything is unimportant.

Leave a comment