I read a book

I actually have a dozen of books I’m reading simultaneously right now, but none of them are finished so I’m not qualified to comment on those, though I really want to.

I’m supposed to write about the last book I read, and the last book I read was not The Great Divorce by C. S. Lewis, but I’ve decided that it’s worth the mention in this post.

thegreatdivorce

C. S. Lewis is a well known novelist and scholar from United Kingdom in early 20th century, did many work that are still resonating today.

The genre of the book can be considered a theological fantasy, but in my opinion, it’s nothing short of the reality.  The title of the book is actually a response to the poem “The Marriage of Heaven and Hell” by William Blake.  It’s  interesting that the title is a response to such poem make me to think it has certain apologetic implications.  The conversations in the book spark insights into the reader, and it is very stimulating to the mind, as well as the soul & spirit.  The contrast between Heaven and Hell is tremendously rich in imagery.

The-Tradgedian-Nelson-2010-cs-lewis-great-divorce-puppet-little-man-guilt

The book is about the journey of an individual from “grey town” to Heaven, by a flying bus; and it’s written in the first person, whom the identity was never revealed.  The reason: this could be you, the reader.  The encounters of the narrator are reflections upon the concept of Heaven and Hell, in relation to the choices people make, and the roads that they take.

flyingbus

Though I have read this book some time ago, it still has a special place in my heart.  I promise you that this is one of a kind!  This is one of my favorites!!

I will end with some of the quotes from the book:

I do not think that all who choose wrong roads perish; but their rescue consists in being put back on the right road. A sum can be put right: but only by going back til you find the error and working it afresh from that point, never by simply going on.  Evil can be undone, but it cannot “develop” into good.  Time does not heal it.  The spell must be unwound, bit by bit, “with backward mutters of dissevering power” – or else not.

 

I believe, to be sure, that any man who reaches Heaven will find that what he abandoned (even in plucking out his right eye) has not been lost: that the kernel of what he was really seeking even in his most depraved wishes will be there, beyond expectation, waiting for him in the “High Countries.”

 

“I cannot love a lie,” said the Lady. “I cannot love the thing which is not.  I am in Love, and out of it I will not go.”

 

Nothing, not even the best and noblest, can go on as it is.  Nothing, not even what is lowest and most bestial, will not be raised if it submits to death.

 

That’s what we all find when we reach this country.  We’ve all been wrong!  That’s the great joke.  There’s no need to go on pretending one was right!  After that we begin living.

 

busride1

Leave a Reply

