Do Something

I was driving home from a dinner gathering.  At the freeway exit, I saw a homeless man with a sign.  The signs says, “Anything helps.”

I had some left over pizza with me.  And I was the first one at the stop light that night.  I rolled down the window, “Do you want some pizza?”

His face lit up with an glimpse of hope, “Thank you,” but quickly was filled with grimaces as he started moving.  He didn’t move very swiftly.  When he stepped out and took my offer, he was limping.  One leg is significantly bigger than the other.

“Your leg is swollen.  Are you OK?” Naturally asked this question as the nurse that I am.  I was ready to ask some more assessment questions, and give him instruction on when to go to the emergency room.

“I know, I have bone cancer.”  He limped back to his seat, sat down, and started eating right away.  He has to be in his 30s only.

I was so shocked, I had no words to say.  I wanted to comfort him, but exactly what I say?  How do I know what he will listen?  Because I know deep down, he desperately needs healing, comfort, shelter, food, cleanliness, acceptance and love.  He needs Jesus.  Doesn’t matter if he was a fake or not.  But I just could not muster up any word.  And then imagine how overwhelmed it is for him to be him.  The minute felt like ten.

The light turned green, and all I could say was “take care” and he gave me a big smile with food filled his mouth.  I drove off, still shocked.  It’s not my first time seeing something like this, and it’s not that I don’t know what the problem is…

I got caught off guard.  I am troubled.  So I prayed, for him, and for myself.  I don’t want to be caught off guard, I want to be prepared.  Prepared to give and love, so whenever needed, it will be a natural out-pour of His love.

And I remember just hearing a song this week, “Do something.”  It’s time for us to do something.

“We are the salt of the earth.  We are a city on a hill.
But we’re never gonna change the world by standing still.
If not us, then who?  If not me and you, right now!  It’s time for us to do something!
If not now, then when?  Will we see an end to all this pain?  Well it’s not enough to do nothing!!”

2 thoughts on “Do Something

  1. You did the right thing by driving off. You were alone and it didn’t matter if it was night or day. Something bad could happen in less than a second and you are screwed for life. Every situation is different but you have to be on your guard. I know you wanted to show the love of Christ to this man, and that is a good thing, but it is very hard to change someone’s life around. I am sure if you brought up Jesus to homeless people, 9 times out of 10 they already heard it…. I have not found one homeless person who has not hear of God’s love thru Christ. Unfortunately most are there because of substance addiction or are mentally ill.

    • Yes it’s probably not the safest idea to do anything there, and that many of the homeless people suffer substance abuse and/or mental conditions. It’s the prompting for me to somehow get involved in an organized manner and be a part to help a real issue of the society (along with many other issues) that needs a systematic approach. Life transformation takes place mostly at the relational level. Thanks for the comment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

